Unity What?

Unity just announced that they’re adding a fee per install starting next year, with the highest fee being 20 cents per install. There’s a lot of confusion among the game dev community with all the different edge cases this might impact and how it will affect low price mobile games.

The main argument I’ve seen is to not worry, it will only affect you after you reach 200,000 installs and $200,000 revenue which you’re unlikely to achieve. I don’t find it reassuring to use an engine where you’ll be fine, as long as you’re not successful.

I’ve been on the fence about using Unreal for personal projects due to all my experience using Unity at various studios, but now I’ve decided to go all in and learn Unreal. Overall I think this will be the right choice, regardless of whatever weird stuff Unity does. I’ve been noticing on a lot of game dev job posting that they’re looking for Unreal experience, so in the long run I think it’ll be beneficial to have Unreal experience. Time to dust off my C++ brain cells.

Greg Hendrix @greghendrix